Football Names Award Winners at Channing Smith Banquet

first_img Print Friendly Version The 2017 Drake University football team put the finishing touches on its season with the 120th annual Channing Smith Banquet on Saturday.Fifth-year senior and team captain Tanner Evans was the most honored player of the evening as he took home two awards.Evans was awarded the team’s Theme Award for the personifying the team’s season-long theme and mission ‘Build the House’. He also received the “We Are Relentless” Award.Senior Grant Kraemer was named the Johnny Bright MVP, while fellow senior Nathan Clayberg received the Gen Schultz Award, which is the annual honor bestowed upon an upperclassman who displays the highest standards of leadership, citizenship and personal conduct on the field and in his academic and campus activities. Fifth-year senior Payson Wick was honored with the Paul Morrison ‘All In Award’.The team’s top workers on the practice field also received much deserved recognition for their efforts in preparing the Bulldogs to compete week in and week out with the Scout Team Awards. Cross Robinson was honored with the Offensive Scout Team Award. Armando Fitz Jr. earned the defensive award and Alex Rogers received the special teams honor.120th Annual Channing Smith BanquetAward WinnersJohnny Bright MVP Award – Grant KraemerPaul Morrison ‘All In Award’ – Payson Wick’Build the House’ Theme Award – Tanner EvansGene Schultz Award – Nathan Clayberg”We Are Relentless” Award – Tanner EvansOffense Scout Team Award – Cross RobinsonDefense Scout Team Award – Armando Fitz Jr.Scout Team Award – Alex RogersOffense Hammer Award – Ryan LemkeDefense Hammer Award – Mike MaizeSpecial Teams Hammer Award – Austin Dismondlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *